Chance Encounters and Maira Kalman

Lately I’ve kept Maira Kalman’s “The Principles of Uncertainty” propped open next to my computer, a place for my eyes to go while waiting for the printer to print or the scanner to scan. I turn the page each day, looking for “the eternal pleasure of chance encounters,” as Kalman would say.

An entry I came upon right after writing about Andie seemed perfect: dated July 5, 2006, Kalman writes (though it looks better in her irregular handwriting than in text): “My dream is to walk around the world. A smallish backpack, all essentials neatly in place. A camera. A notebook. A traveling paint set. A hat. Good shoes. A nice pleated (green) skirt for the occasional seaside hotel afternoon dance.”

Then I listened to this podcast – what a treat:

https://onbeing.org/programs/maira-kalman-the-normal-daily-things-we-fall-in-love-with-sep2017/

And Kalman’s “nice pleated (green) skirt,” and general fondness for objects, put me in mind of a certain twirly skirt.

Save

6 thoughts on “Chance Encounters and Maira Kalman

  1. What little girl(of any age) wouldn’t love to wear that twirly skirt? Lovely thoughts on a morning after the sky fell on Bainbridge..

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    • We are definitely in that rainiest time of the year Jane — and I’m glad you didn’t lose power – we did – and water for a while (not the storm but a wayward driver who hit a hydrant. xo

  2. Some stuff is definitely worth keeping around! Like good books and twirly skirts. I’m looking forward to listening to this podcast! I don’t know if you remember Mara’s twirly skirt. Alex’s aunt, who lived in Tokyo, had made it for herself. She passed it along to me, and Mara appropriated it when she was about 8 years old. It had yards and yards of tiered patterned red and orange cloth, and it spread out in a wide circle when the wearer was twirling or sitting on the floor.

I love to read your comments - thank you so much for taking the time to leave one!

