The Pie

Lady Baby asked her mother some time ago if we could have a “baked apple pie” after Thanksgiving dinner. We aren’t sure where that request came from – but it has the ring of literature.

Before she came I bought a frozen piecrust with two shells in case a baking opportunity arose. And when it did, Googling vegan apple pie led to a one-crust recipe. We changed the recipe a little and discovered a happy way to make a pie with a three and a half-year old – like playing mud pies – only tastier!

Slice the apples (the recipe says four cups, I cut enough to be a big pile so our pie would be overfull). Combine a third cup of coconut oil with a third cup of brown sugar – mush them together with a tablespoon of cinnamon and teaspoon of grated nutmeg (that seems a lot of cinnamon, but it contributed to the pie’s success I think).

Lady Baby helped transfer the frozen, but softened and slightly shattered piecrust to a real pie pan. She dumped handfuls of apples in rough layers, and then concentrated on patting and crumbling the sweet brown mixture around the apples.

We flipped the second piecrust onto the top of our heaped apples – never minding the fissures (though Lady Baby tried diligently to pinch the crust fractures together).

Then the best part – we smeared the rest of the coconut and sugar and spice mixture onto the top crust. We made up this adaptation on the spot and loved the process. We cut some slots in the top. (Probably unnecessary, but book illustrations always show those steaming portals – they do eat much pie and cake in storybooks.) The pie baked for about an hour in a 350° oven.

I love to bake – and maybe Lady Baby will also – such magic to see the transformation from cold and questionable to hot and fragrant.

We are ready for a repeat this Thanksgiving!

apple pie postcard 1

 

 

11 thoughts on “The Pie

  1. Beautiful! My 6 grown grandchildren have delighted me by calling me for a favorite recipe – not always the same one, but it’s such fun to realize that their memories of visits with us resulted in happy food memories.  I have a photo of “little ” Jane sitting atop the kitchen counter as she crafted her dough. She is now almost 27, a bride-to-be. It goes so fast!

  2. It’s good that she didn’t ask for “Four and twenty blackbirds backed in a pie.” I love the thought of the steamy good smell coming out of the top of the pie. It’s great to bake with young children. I never had much patience for it, and I could never keep my kids from eating the cookie dough before it was baked. Love your sad lady who got no pie.

  3. Sweet memories for sure. Enjoying catching up on missed blog entries poolside. Baking out my lingering cough one day at a time. I do think it helps!

  4. This time of year is a good time of year for homemade pizza grilled on a pizza stone too. Our young ones like having their own balls of dough and can select toppings from a little buffet of ingredients. Yup, lots of flour on cupboard fronts and floors(and our fronts too!) but fun and I bet memorable. Do we grandmothers hold body memories of our grandmothers letting us “help,” remembering the feel of our own little bread dough ball, kneading and patting and placing into its own well greased baby pan?

    • Just love this idea Susan – the pizza pies! Maybe we could have pizza and baked apple pie for Thanksgiving – I could get behind that! (and I do have a vague memory of scraps of dough twisted with cinnamon and sugar, but since my mom never baked a thing except TV dinners – an early career woman – I have no idea of the memory source!)

  5. My grandmother had a wonderful habit of making too much pie crust so there’s be plenty for those scraps with cinnamon and sugar. My mouth is watering at the memory — and at your apple pie!

I love to read your comments - thank you so much for taking the time to leave one!

