Daffodils and More Birds

At the beginning of March, sunshine and daffodils in yellows warm and pale lit up the world. Cold mornings gave way to warm middays, and all day the sun shone into my workroom onto bird photos and paintings. Welcome rain returns this week, but I loved sitting and painting in warmth.

I discovered other amazing bird photographers to add to my acknowledgement list, most specially Alan and Elaine Vernon’s beautiful photos. They are generous and their site a fine resource: www.naturespicsonline.com.

With frets in the air about the early spring and low snowpack, I wait for the migrants to return. No sign yet of these two, the White-crowned sparrow and Violet-green swallow, but I hope to see and hear them soon!

White-crowned sparrow

White-crowned sparrow

Violet-green swallow

Violet-green swallow

9 thoughts on “Daffodils and More Birds

  1. Oh Katy, it’s such fun to share your joy of the awakening spring.  And am I right in remembering that you will have a new grandchild in April?                               Love, Jane

  2. Seeing these bird paintings up close is a treat. I don’t think I’ve ever heard of a violet-green swallow before. It has such lovely and subtle colors.

I love to read your comments - thank you so much for taking the time to leave one!

