Short and Sweet – Chocolate Tofu Pudding

Does the tofu in the title put you off? I’ve never been a huge pudding fan (though I’ve always loved how the British use the word pudding where we would use dessert, as when the Dowager Lady Grantham defies Lord Grantham and elects to stay at Mrs. Crawley’s luncheon because “it would be a shame to let such a fine pudding go to waste”).

But this chocolate concoction makes a fine dessert and a good birthday cake substitute for a pudding and chocolate lover. It’s rich, oh so rich tasting, but not because of cream, butter, or eggs. The recipe comes from the “Mixed Greens” blog – a beautiful food blog here in the Pacific Northwest.

It calls for 12 ounces of silken tofu (that’s the boxed kind – so it can sit in the pantry till a celebration needs to happen) and four ounces of good chocolate, melted. Chocolate quality matters because this treat is about chocolate – I used 72%.

Combine a third cup of sugar with a third cup of water in a little saucepan, and bring to a boil. Stir until the sugar dissolves (it happens quickly).

Combine the tofu, sugar water, melted chocolate, and a teaspoon of vanilla in a blender. Blend till smooth. Pour into serving containers and refrigerate for at least two hours.

You don’t need much of this dessert (in truth the first time I ate it I was wide awake and full of energy, reading a book for hours in the night – but I was happy). A little bit is delicious and the presentation is fun. The cooks at “Mixed Greens” served it in espresso cups, but I poured it into tiny shot glasses.

I’m going to use the custard cups Mrs. Hughes gave me for my next endeavor. I’ll only fill part way – not much at all in each – and then top with a sauce of plain frozen raspberries – tart and red to go with the sweet.

I do like to think of the horror on Lady’s Grantham’s face if the pudding she was offered turned out to contain tofu. “What will they think of next?” she’d say. But she might enjoy – I surely did.

Fresh raspberries

9 thoughts on “Short and Sweet – Chocolate Tofu Pudding

  1. Yum! Katy, I shared this with both Penny and Paige. Penny, because she’s an excellent, innovative cook, and Paige, because she loves chocolate. I’m thinking that pudding for breakfast is a lovely idea. ~Jane

  2. I am very curious to try this one. I’m sharing this recipe with some friends who are trying to cut back on dairy.

  3. I’ve never liked the “egginess” of pudding and custard, so this might be interesting to try.
    My grandson, after a recent dental procedure, had chocolate pudding for the first time. He prolonged his sore mouth for days so he could continue to eat the chocolate pudding in those little pre-packaged snack cups. This would certainly be a healthier alternative, and, unlike Lady Grantham, he and his brother fully approve of tofu.

  4. This recipe sounds delightful and my thoughts went immediately to how to serve this sweet treat! I am thinking of those little glasses the Turkish people serve their coffee in – with no handles- seems just the right size for a sweet treat early in the morning. Perhaps this treat would give me lots of energy to keep up with the students all day. Thank you , Katy.

  5. I have to admit I’m one of those who responds to the idea of tofu with polite skepticism. I HAVE had it in dishes that were tasty — but also in fairly disappointing guises.(A tofu ‘hot dog’ years ago comes to mind.) But this might make a believer of me.

I love to read your comments - thank you so much for taking the time to leave one!

