Asparagus

It’s May, it’s May – the merry month of asparagus! (And so far, rain and cold, but never mind.)

When I made the vegetable loaf recipe, I had a handful of extra asparagus. Even after several green spears posed on my drawing table for collaging, I was able that night to nestle them next to potatoes to be roasted and enjoy (olive oil and salt and pepper, 400° till tender).

The next day I remembered this by Heidi Swanson:

http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/avocado-asparagus-tartine-recipe.html

so added the roasted asparagus to the avocado I’d slathered onto some bread for lunch (avocado being my most favorite sandwich these days). “Avocado on Garlic Rubbed Toast”  http://www.digginfood.com/ is Willi Galloway’s more elegant version.

And, to add a third real food blogger to this asparagus day, another Heidi – this one a young Alaska woman who cooks so well. In this post she tells how to simply and perfectly roast asparagus:

http://chenagirlcooks.blogspot.com/2012/05/roasted-asparagus.html

These cooks say it all, so enjoy! Enjoy spring!

One thought on “Asparagus

  1. Beautiful collage! You got that delicate pink-purple of the scales just right. I just picked a nice mess of asparagus — now to decide which of these recipes to try.

I love to read your comments - thank you so much for taking the time to leave one!

