Love and Forgiveness

Protected by snow from temperatures in the low 20s, our garden is now restored to its green Washington winter beauty. Ferns and hellebore, beach strawberry and rosemary emerged wet but not brown. Even the lawn is green again – and I see blossoming tiny cyclamen and budded snowdrops!

Last Saturday, walking the woods trail in the first post-snow morning, glad to walk on soggy earth again and hear tiny birds chittering about, a comment from a reader was on my mind. She wondered if the love from a baby is like the unconditional love from a dog.

I intended to reply to her by email, but for some reason there in the woods, I realized that to other readers it might seem I fail to acknowledge comments or answer questions. I always try to write emails to the commenter – but rarely do I write back in the comment queue.

A fellow blogger, when I belatedly commented on her site, said it’s always good to get feedback – and that is true. Often a comment or an email sets me up for the day! I appreciate it when something moves or puzzles someone enough to write. One reader referred to a community of kindred spirits who read the blog – and that feels good.

So here I offer a heartfelt thank you for comments and compliments – all are appreciated!

Now back to unconditional love. In drafting a reply in my head on that walk, I thought what I felt with the baby was love for her – unadulterated, powerful, beginning-before-she-was-born love.

Not being a dog person, and much more aligned with cats, I’ve never been sure about receiving unconditional love. No one talks about unconditional love and cats in the same sentence. And then I began to wonder if what we think of as unconditional love is the love we feel, reflected back.

When we love unconditionally (especially babies or animals because they don’t speak or fail to speak), I wonder if it doesn’t bounce back and feel like incoming love.

Just a thought for the Love month. Thank you readers! You keep me going into this third year!

3 thoughts on “Love and Forgiveness

  1. Thanks, Katy. I’ll bet I’m crediting a wagging tail each time I enter the room — no matter how recent the last entry — with love. A cat swishing a tail indicates irritation, generally. Might just be eagerness from our pooches, living in the moment. Babies cry if hungry; our dogs come find me promptly at feeding time (better timekeepers than a watch!) and wag their tails or insert furry heads beneath the iPad to get my attention. How could I not love that behavior and smile!

    As usual, your posts and art prompt thought and admiration.

  2. Both your thoughts here and this image are quite beautiful and intriguing… Thank you for this continuing form of sharing, also a certain and unique gesture of love!
    Love, Andie

I love to read your comments - thank you so much for taking the time to leave one!

